Christmas thoughts, Christmas Creeks

As we are heading at breakneck speed towards Christmas, and as I will probably not get a chance to write another post before next year, I thought that I would leave you with a little smackerell of something of no consequence.  But something that is vaguely relevant to rivers and something that might amuse slightly.

Having come across the odd Christmas Creek in my travels, I wondered how many there were out there. A quick search in Google Earth revealed quite a few in Australia – about a dozen. Unfortunately, I couldn’t find any in Tasmania, which is very sad for residents in that state. Interestingly, I could find no ‘Christmas River’ or any other flowing water body with ‘Christmas’ as its name in Australia.  Weird.  And I could only fine one Christmas Creek in the whole of the US, in Florida, although there is a Santa Creek in Benewah Idaho (and several in Peru!). There is a Christmas Creek in Yukon, Canada, but nowhere else. Perhaps some of our North American colleagues might be able to hazard a guess as to why there is this general absence of Christmas Creeks in their neck of the woods. Or perhaps Australians might have some idea as to why we have so many.

Christmas Creeks in AustraliaA quick search revealed no ‘Weihnachten Fluss’ or ‘Weihnachten Bach’ in Germany or Austria (Weihnachten is Christmas in German). There is a Rivière Noël in Les Avirons, Saint-Paul, Reunion Islands, but nowhere else could I find one in other French-speaking countries, including France. I might stop there, because this could become an obsession. There may be more out there – and I didn’t go into other languages and countries – so if you know of some and are interested, please let me know.

Anyway, I’d like to wish all of you a Happy Christmas and a great New Year. I have some interesting posts in mind for next year, including the final one on Leonardo da Vinci.  I might even get on to this sooner than later.  Until then….

This entry was posted in Rivers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Christmas thoughts, Christmas Creeks

  1. Nice posting Paul and some food-for-thought over the holiday season. Not sure why the U.S. lacks rivers named “Christmas”. Being a Canadian, but living in the U.S. for 10+ years, there might be a good explanation that escapes me. But I do know of a Christmas Creek in Jefferson County, Washington State. Just a short drive from my house in Seattle.

    • Thanks Julian, perhaps there are far more Christmas Creeks, but GoogleEarth does not pick them up for some reason. Who knows. At least there is one more to add to the list. Now, I wonder if there are any Easter Creeks out there….

Leave a Reply

