Seminar on Historical Ecology by Paul Humphries: “Making the Dead Speak”

On the 1st of November I gave a seminar in a series on water in the Murray-Darling Basin entitled Making the dead speak: how historical ecology can aid freshwater conservation and management

In it, I outline what motivated my interest in historical ecology, the limitations in contemporary ecology in meeting conservation and management needs and  definitions and sources of historical ecology. I then go on to describe several examples of where historical ecology studies have shed light on patterns of distribution and life histories of fish species in Europe, Australia and North America.  Lastly, I present some of my research in historical ecology and that of my students.

The system is called Echo360, and the seminar is in Week 149 and called  Supplemental: Friday, November 2, 2012:Making the Dead Speak – Dr Paul Humphries. Just click on this and it should work.  Let me know if it doesn’t.

This entry was posted in Historical ecology, River conservation, River management, River research and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

